Uncategorized

Life is Sweet; wait…not really!

I’ve been gone for a minute…the dog ate my homework :-/ but seriously I haven’t done much in that time and somehow I feel it will still be OK [Earth still in orbit…check!].

In my weeks of hiding out from the blog (oh the pressure to hurry up and get fit so that I could write about it LOL), I’ve eradicated sugar from my diet, well for the most part anyway. Ah still need to “brown” meh chicken before ah stew it…ah not playin’ dat breds. I’ve read a handsome collection of online articles that make fair attempts to prep you for the big day and the immediate side effects seem quite grim.

Only a couple of weeks in, my waist is significantly smaller, I feel mildly confused and sluggish and I’ve been scarfing down all kinds of fruit just to get a hit. Life is sweet; wait not really! To be honest though, I kinda like it. I’m forced to drink more water and eat more fruit, I feel confident because I’m taking an active part in preserving my health and my three-year-old can no longer slurp her porridge down and then come to empty my bowl as well…mama bear is off the hook this time (last night during her habitual porridge heist, she discovered that mine was sans sugar and decided to finger paint my back with it in silent protest; we’re still working out the kinks).

In happier news, my family participated in the Sagicor Phoenix Walk Run 2016 last Saturday evening (after scoffing at the 6:30pm start time, I quickly learned that it was wisdom in them to select a time when the sun would be nowhere in sight). It was just one lap around our world renown Queens Park Savannah, which is only about 3.5km…the largest roundabout in the world but given my previous training I anticipated that it would be a walk in the park for me!

My ten-year-old and I went ahead while the bionic husband had our five and three-year-olds and the ten month old with him [yes we have quite a bunch lol]. About 47secs after the horn sounded, my big boy says to me “mummy ah don’t want to leave yuh, come on come on”. In my many years of mothering experience I conceded to get some peace and arranged for us to meet up after I crossed the finish line. With his instructions memorised he shot off and disappeared along the track.

At that moment, my decision to walk was up in smoke. A singular thought “my baby! what have I done?!” activated the bounce in my new Saucony sneakers and I broke into a desperate run…and then a jog…and a walk…and then a run again…well, I’m sure you get the picture lol. Big shout out to Onika Cummings who first introduced me to the concept of the double bra back in 2001…I didn’t need it then but I sure was grateful to have done it in anticipation of rough terrain that faithful evening. Gotta get Onika a gift card or something.

I made it in 28mins recovered my medalled boy and waited to welcome the rest of the troops at the finish line.

photoFinish

A brief attempt to take the smaller ones before the finish was swatted away by a husband with mojo in full sway. The singular scene above ensured medals for all, yes, even the exhausted boy on his daddy’s back…who, daddy reported, was apparently exhausted despite being in tow for 98% of the race.

I sure hope this is a new family tradition. I’ll stock some nuts at home (dat good fuh d back) and wait for hubby to suggest the next walk/run. Life is sweet; yes.

 

xoxo wolfing down some cranberry cashew trail mix,

Rachael

2 thoughts on “Life is Sweet; wait…not really!”

Leave a comment